In compliance with international GDPR policy, Piktochart would purge free accounts that have been inactive for a year, deleting them entirely.
A one-month buffer of notifying the user would take place before the deletion, and a backup file that would be valid for a week would be sent to the user upon the deletion of the account.
What does inactive mean?
Piktochart determines inactive accounts by looking at sign-ins over the last 12 months. If you have signed in within the previous 12 months, then your account is considered active.
What happens after I received the email?
From the date of the first email notification, you have up to 4 weeks to decide if you want to keep your account. A final reminder will be sent to you 2 weeks before the termination of your account.
After your account has been terminated (if you did not re-activate it within the 4 weeks period), we will send you a final email with a link to download all your saved work. Do note that the link will only be available for a week, and it will be your last chance to retrieve your saved work, after which we would not be able to recover them for you.
What if I received an email about my account, but have been actively using Piktochart?
If you recently used your Piktochart account, but still received an account-closure email, it's likely that we've contacted you about a separate, unused Piktochart account (possibly one that you forgot you created). It could also be possible that some email forwarding or redirection was configured in your system which caused the email to be redirected to your email address.
I no longer want my account. Do I need to do anything?
If you no longer want your Piktochart account, you can simply leave it alone. Your account will be automatically deactivated and your files will be deleted 1 month after you have received the first email notification. Alternatively, you can delete it immediately if you so choose to.
What if I need to recover my saved visuals?
Upon account termination due to inactivity, you will receive an email with a link to a backup file. This backup file contains all your (encrypted) visuals. The link to the backup file is only available for 1 week before it expires. By downloading the backup file, you may restore your visuals should you choose to use Piktochart again in the future. If you wish to restore these files from the backup, you can contact us.
I want to continue using my Piktochart account, but I forgot my password. What can I do?
You can reset your password to regain access to your account.